2016 Southern Athletic League Match 2 Bracknell

bracknellac's picture

League leaders after the first round, Bracknell Athletic Club will have undoubtedly strengthened their position following last Sundays’ match. Competing at the John Nike Stadium, in Division Two West, of the Southern Athletic League, Bracknell won their second fixture, in spectacular fashion.

Scoring 246 points, the combined Men and Ladies team, finished the match, 90 points ahead of their nearest rival.  Wycombe came second, with 156 points. Winchester were third scoring 153, one point ahead of Brighton, who with 152 points, came fourth.

On the field, Mark Wiseman was in his usual sparkling form, taking maximum points in all three of his throwing events. The Shot, Hammer and Discus.  Robert Mungham, making his seasons; debut, won the “A” string Hammer, with a throw, 3 metres further than Mark’s best mark. Charlie Ashdown-Taylor won the “B” string Shot and Team Captain, Jan Drzewiecki the “B” string Discus. Sam Russell added over a metre to his best effort in the Javelin.

Ben Russell, Sam’s elder brother, also achieved a new PB, adding a centre metre to his previous best, whilst winning the High Jump. Peter Marlow winning the “B” string event, made it three double wins in a row, for the pair. Another double was set in the Long Jump. Robbie Wilde with his second PB in a week, won the senior contest and Luke Batup set a new season’s best to win the “B” string.

Charlie Ashdown-Taylor cleared a new personal best height to take second place in the Pole Vault. Then Nathan Standing hopped, skipped and jumped to a new PB, in the Triple Jump, to win the “B” string.

On the track, Sam Collins won the “A” string 100m, in a new seasons’ best time. Then took second place, equaling his SB, in the 200m race. Junior partner, Jake Hatfield, equaled his own season best times, duplicating Sam’s finishing positions in both races. In the 400m, Conor Breslin came third in the senior race and Harry Digby in a new personal best time, took second place in the “B” string.

Ilias Hadeq, completed the middle distance double.  Winning the senior 800m, he also came second in his first truly competitive outing in the 1500m. Maxwell Cooper, shared the winners’ rostrum with Ilias, in the two lap race. Then in the junior metric mile, youth Adam Dart, making his debut for the side, added some useful points, taking third place.

James Daly another making a seasons’ debut, won the senior 3000m, his partner Aaron Enser, took second place in the “B” string. Both achieved new season best times.

Maxwell Cooper and Ben Wills raced the 3K Steeple Chase. This was the first outing for both lads at the longer distance. Not that you would have known, for Maxwell placed second in the “A” string and Ben won the “B” string, to become the first to win the junior event, since July 2010.

There was more double success in the 110m High Hurdles. Ben Russell in a new personal best time, won the “A” string. The first to do so, since June 2012.  Then with Luke Batup, also in a new PB time, winning the “B” string, the pair became the first to pull off the double since June 2010.

Harry Henson equaling his recently PB, was a clear winner of the 400m Hurdles. His “B” string partner Sam Russell, reduced his previously best time by over a second, taking second place in the junior event.

Like the Men, the Ladies also fielded a complete team.  In itself a new Bracknell record.

Rebecca Watkins and Abi Teekaraam, took maximum points in the 100m. Then in the 200m, Abi had to settle for second place in the junior race. Whereas Rebecca won the “B” string.  Connie McCafferty won the senior 400m, then her partner Ella D’Abreo, took a respectable second in the “B” string.

The middle distance races were dominated by Bracknell.  Hannah McClay and Amelia Quirke completed the 800m double.  Then later in the afternoon, Amelia, with Sophie Poole were comfortable winners of the 1500m races. The 5000m was covered by Laurie Marlow and Natasha Norris who both ran into second places.

Over the sticks, Natalie Mulliner took third place in the 100m Hurdles. Her “B” string partner Emilia Rakowska came second in the junior race. The 400m Hurdles, saw Connie McCafferty and Natalie Mulliner, take third places. The 1500m Steeple Chase brought further double success for the club. Elena Carey, breaking her own club record, and Hannah Barnard winning their respective races.

In the jumps, Hannah McClay and Julia Machin took second places in the High Jump. Then in the Pole Vault, Isobel Deacon and Emily MacDonald, pulled off another double victory. Tanya Grosvenor covered the senior Long Jump, allowing her partner Rhiannon Larsen, to take second place in the “B” string. Then later, Connie McCafferty and Isobel Deacon took respected second places in the Triple Jump.

In the “A” string Shot, Anaisa Harney took second place, allowing her partner Yasmin Bryan to also take second place. Whereas in the Hammer Ivana Koynarova and Emily Spencer-Jones both climbed the winners’ rostrum. Anaisa Harney was a clear winner of the Javelin.

The last races of the day are the relays.  The Ladies won both. Abi Teekaraam, Lauren Shaw, Hannah McClay and Rebecca Watkins, successfully brought the baton home, in the 4 x 100m. As did Connie McCafferty, Amelia Quirke, Elena Carey and Hannah McClay in the 4 x 400m relay. 

The male quartet of Gideon Olosunde, Jake Hatfield, Calum Wesley and Sam Collins, despite a bad change over, were comfortable winners of the 4 x 100m sprint relay.  Whereas in the 4 x 400m, Conor Breslin, Harry Digby, Sam Collins and Ryan Brackstone were sadly beaten into second place..